“Royal Lytham & St Annes, 18th Hole”



Click on Image to view a larger version

by Linda Hartough

Limited Edition of 850 Prints

Size: 15 3/8 x 27in

Founded in 1886, it was in 1926 that Lytham earned instant fame, the year that the legendary Bobby Jones won his first title in Britain. Playing with Al Watrous at the 71st hole, Watrous was on the green in two. Jones was in a sandy waste 175 yards from the green hidden from view, with little chance of the then hickory-shafted club dispatching a ball that distance to the green. A plaque marks the spot upon which Jones nipped his mashie-iron perfectly when as Bernard Darwin observed later, a teaspoon more sand would have meant irretrievable ruin

The list of winners at Royal Lytham is a testimony to it’s greatness as an Open Championship venue. Bobby Jones, Bobby Locke, Peter Thomson, Bob Charles, Tony Jacklin, Gary Player and Seve Ballesteros have all triumphed here. The latest to savour victory was David Duval in 2001, at the time world no. 1.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop